The name of Azay comes from a Roman notable, called Asius, who engraved his name on the locality, after the conquest of Celtic Gaul. In the 4th century, Azay witnessed and suffered the terror of the Vikings, and was annihilated by “undermining and fire”, which probably added the term “burnt” to Azay. Around the year 1000, Azay-le-Brûlé rose from its ashes and demonstrated its resilience with the construction of a church attached to the vicariate of Aiffres. Over time, it was enlarged with many buildings, including a charming cloister, which still exists today (Saint-Barthélémy Priory).
Azay-le-BrûléAlong the Sevre