église de Saivreséglise de Saivres
©église de Saivres|C.Gion-OTHVS
SaivresA bucolic charm


Established since Gallo-Roman times, Saivres developed thanks to the development of Saint-Maixent-l’École. This hillside town is full paths to walk or cycle. It holds its charm from its flowery side, its church and its many washhouses that dot the territory.

A name of Poitevin origin

“Saivres” is none other than the name of the river that crosses the territory, the Sèvre in Poitevin, the regional language.

The town of Saivres offers several walks and hikes without great difficulty to discover the charm, beauty and tranquility of the town.

St. Peter's Church

Located right next to the town hall, it is impossible to miss it! Built in the 13th century, it suffered damage during the Hundred Years War and later the Wars of Religion. It underwent major restoration in the 17th century before being desecrated in 1793. Its last reconstruction dates from 1874-1878. The stained glass windows (1879) are by Pierre-Eugène Guérithault, painter and glassmaker in Poitiers.

Herbaudiere Castle

The seigniory is mentioned as early as 1344, yet the construction of the new dwelling did not take place until the end of the 16th century, in 1599. In the form of a quadrilateral, it is composed of a dwelling and three wings. The interior retains monumental fireplaces. The living room is decorated with panoramic wallpaper depicting hunting scenes. The decor, rare, is typical of the end of the 16th and the beginning of the 17th century. Sold as national property during the Revolution, it is now listed as a Historic Monument.

Donia's career

Located in a geological contact zone between two sedimentary basins (Parisian and Aquitaine) and two crystalline massifs (Armorican and central), the Deux Sèvres subsoil has extractive characteristics. Donia’s quarry, still active, can be visited regularly. The opportunity to discover the cutting faces, the industrial installations and to better understand the different stages of the manufacture of aggregates.

Edmond Proust, known as « Chaumette » (1894-1956)

Officer of the secret army in Deux-Sèvres

Born in Chenay, a teacher in Perré in Saivres before the war and a refugee in the Bidolière lodge in Saint-Martin-de-Saint-Maixent, very close to Sainte-Eanne, Edmond Proust was a departmental then national figure in the Resistance as a head of the French Forces of the Interior for Deux-Sèvres in 1944. After the armistice, Edmond Proust returned to the school of Perré until 1949 then devoted himself fully until his death in 1956, to the Presidency of the Mutuelle Assurance Automobile des Instituteurs de France (MAAIF), which he founded in 1934.